My Vehicle of Choice

HONG KONG is geographically compact and has a population of more than 7 million.  

Most people don’t drive over here and I’m no exception (although I miss driving very much).  Nowadays, I don’t even own a vehicle as there is no need to, public transportation is so convenient.  It’s much easier and cheaper to wave down a red Taxicab than finding parking facilities.  Hong Kong has a little more than 16,000 Taxis and as you can see, they are everywhere. 

DSC00039

DSC02345

DSC00041

Hats off to the Taxi Drivers, they have been serving the communities for as long as as I can remember, bringing us from point A to point B safely and most importantly, on time. 

Red Taxi is ‘My Vehicle of Choice’ in this part of the globe.  Let’s see what other choices they have at the Round Robin Photo Challenge.

~ by Molly Mavis on July 25, 2009.

10 Responses to “My Vehicle of Choice”

  1. When I lived in San Francisco, I had a small VW Bug that rarely came out of the garage. My vehicle of choice were buses, taxis and my bike. I think in major cities like Hong Kong, SF, NY public transportation is the best. Nicely done, I enjoyed all the photos.

  2. very nicely done entry! I think if I lived in a place that had great public transportation, I would give up driving, but as it is, I personally rarely drive since I work at home. I like all the taxis available in your fine city. What a great view of it too that you shared with us 🙂

    enjoy the day

  3. That sure is a different area from where I live!! Wow! What a huge city. And I agree, I would not drive there either… 🙂
    Greetings from Paraguay!

  4. Hi!
    Awesome photos!! That’s a lot of Taxi’s. Love the view of your city, great shot! Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  5. Hello Molly Mavis 🙂

    Thank you so much for the fascinating look at your city! I know what you mean about driving in the city. I never drive in San Francisco, at least if I can help it. Alan does all the driving there, the traffic is crazy and the parking worse. But I do enjoy driving in the town I live in across the bay. I really enjoyed the look of Hong Kong from so high up. It’s a beautiful city. It is on my list of cities to see one day. Thanks for playing this challenge.

    -Carly 🙂

  6. What a neat view of your city, from a multitude of angles, and especially the red taxis. I can see why you don’t drive; I wouldn’t either if I lived there. I live in the country and I don’t know how I’ll get around should the day come when I am unable to drive. Hopefully, that’s a long ways away yet.

  7. Wow, wow, wow. Those are amazing shots, especially the third one. It reminds me of all the yellow cabs in NYC, but even there the traffic is not that homogeneous IIRC. Great city shot at the end also. Your photographic guide to Hong Kong is always fascinating!

  8. That would be simply impossible here in Brussels ! the taxis are so expensive that they are only affordable by wealthy people. The commun transport is lousy there are not enough connections. Where I live I would have to walk for 1/2 h to get a train and wait for at least 1/2 to get the next one and for a bus it’s even worse.

  9. A recent survey shows that Calgary, where I live, has the second highest downtown parking rates in North America, after NYC. But I still choose driving over any other modes of transportation. I’d opt for the taxi anytime if I were in HK though.

  10. Definitely Thumbs UP!!! If you remember Walter and I gave up our car years ago as Milan’s traffic can rival with HK (but the rudeness of local drivers here is yet unmatched, I’m afraid), but taxis aren’t the option either: like in most European cities, are too expensive and not as reliable as in HK.
    We go about with metro, buses and trams (that’s why we liked the old double decker running along WanChai).
    The best thing about HK taxis we thought was the colour coding: you could tell if someone had come from the islands or the New Territories or HK main just by the colour. That’s neat!!

Leave a Reply

 
